At a Glance

Economics is one of the important subjects of Social Science discipline. Economic activity of mankind constitutes a major portion of all human work. In our day to day activity, economic action can be seen nearly everywhere. Considering the importance of the subject, a Nobel Prize is awarded in Economics every year. At the Varendra University, the Department of Economics belongs to the Faculty of Social Science and Humanities.

At the Department of Economics, the students are given training in both theoretical and empirical aspects of Economics. The courses are taught in both Bengali and English. There are courses related to Economics such as Statistics and Computing. Job related seminars, debating, and English language courses are conducted to help the students to have a competitive edge.

The Varendra University has recruited teachers with outstanding academic record. The Department of Economics is headed by Professor Tariq Saiful Islam who rendered 45 years service to Rajshahi University before joining here. He has a Ph.D. from the University of Alberta, Canada and several publications in national and international journals.

Mr. Arif Ibne Asad, Lecturer had a most outstanding record at the Rajshahi University having stood first in both the BSS and MSS examinations. He was awarded a gold medal by the Agrani Bank Limited and he has been selected for the Prime Minister’s Gold Medal, which is expected to be awarded very soon.

Nasrin Islam, Lecturer had a very illustrious career at Rajshahi University. She had stood first in the BSS (Honours) examination and stood second in the MSS examination. She is the recipient of several academic awards throughout her university life. She also participated in various extracurricular activities.

BSS Honors Program in Economics

The BSS (Honors) program spans over four academic years and has 12 semesters with a total of 120 credits. Each year has 3 semesters, which are Fall (September to December), Spring (January to April), and Summer (May to August). The program is intended to equip the students with theoretical and empirical knowledge of Economics. There are several courses on Bangladesh economy, which will enable the students to grasp the progress of the economy of Bangladesh.

There are also courses in basic computing with application of specialized software to Economics and a course on computer literacy. These courses include rapid typing, word processing, spreadsheet analysis, power point presentation, and basic web designing.
The Department of Economics belongs to the Faculty of Social Science and Humanities of this university. Students having S.S.C and H.S.C. or equivalent levels are eligible for admission to this program.

MSS (Final) Program in Economics

Students who have passed the BSS (Honours) or MSS preliminary examination in economics from a recognised university are eligible for admission to this one- year MSS programme. The programme will carry 36 credits spread over three semesters.
M.S.S. (Preliminary) Program in Economics
Students who have passed the bachelor’s examination with a satisfactory grade are eligible for admission to this one-year programme. After completing this programme students will be eligible for admission to the Master’s Final programme in economics. This programme carries 30 credits spread over three semesters.

The Department of Economics is providing quality education through following objectives:

  • Provide contemporary knowledge of economics.
  • Give the students competitive edge in the job market.
  • Enhance students’ writing and speaking ability, presentation, oral examination and arrangement of career-oriented seminar and formation of economic debating club are being made.
  • Increase computer and IT related knowledge for better performance in the job market.
  • Have provision for an undergraduate thesis, which will enable students to raise his/her research capability.
  • Enhance computing ability; a course on Computer Literacy has been introduced.
  • Encourage and train students for extra-curricular activities.

© Copyright 2015 Varendra University | Developed by IT Department, Varendra University.